With Accreditation to Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Singapore

Kenya at a glance

Official Name Republic of Kenya
Political System Unitary State with Multiparty Democracy
Capital City Nairobi
Independence 12th December 1963
Official Languages Kiswahili and English
Official Currency Kenya Shillings
Geographical location Located in East Africa
Surface Area


582,646 km2 of which Water – 11,230 km2, National Parks – 25,334 km2, and others 546,082 km2
Religions Catholic, Protestants, Muslims and Traditional Beliefs
Administrative structure


National Government and 47 County Governments that are distinct and Interdependent


Kenya’s economic growth plummeted to 4.5 % in 2017 compared to 5.8 % in 2016. The contraction in economic growth was due to severe drought, prolonged electioneering, weak credit growth and fluctuations in oil prices. However, the growth of the economy is projected to rebound to 5.8% in 2018 and 6.1% in 2019.
Main sectors of the economy


Agriculture and Forestry, fishing, mining and quarrying, manufacturing, electricity and water supply, construction, wholesale and retail, hotels and restaurants, transport and information communication technology, financial intermediation, real estate, renting and business services


Kenya’s economy mainly supported by agriculture and tourism, though other sectors are rising. These are finance, construction, mining, IT and wholesale and retail trade.
Natural resources


They include limestone, soda ash, salt, gemstones, fluorspar, zinc, diatomite, gypsum, wildlife, geothermal power and hydropower among others
S & P’s Rating B+